my review of the year

A brief post, which as this is a blog and as the role of blogs is to be solipsistic – it’s a review of my writing this year.

On the plus side:

  • I have read more books on creative writing, and hopefully taken some of their lessons on board.
  • I have written more, whether as a result of prompts (thank you Chuck Wendig) or just random early morning writing practice. Or as a result of;
  • I’ve started going to the Clerkenwell Writer’s Asylum. A great, really useful group of very talented and thoughtful amateurs that has been going for quite some time.

On the negative side:

  • I have failed to meet any of the challenges I set to push myself (350 words per day, a bit of writing every morning etc etc)
  • I have failed to submit much creative work for publication
  • I have failed to find a comfortable balance between creative and non-fiction writing
  • I have failed to complete the majority of things I’ve started.

On the whole I think there are more pluses than negatives (well obviously not numerically, but the pluses weigh more), but for 2015 I really want to set a few achievable writing goals that I can judge myself against at the end of the year.

These are as follows:

  • Finish (including drafting and redrafting) at least 6 longish short stories.
  • Submit at least 3 short stories for publication with different outlets.
  • Be more disciplined about creative writing – RITE MOAR!!!

Lastly – if you’re reading this – good luck to you in 2015!

