so my third or fourth creative writing blog begins…

and hopefully continues; we will see…

My aim with this blog will be to try and instill a sense of discipline on my creative writing, where I do not allow work or other demands to stop me writing at least something each day. Maybe not a thousand words per day like a previous impossible target, but at least a paragraph or a passage or even a chapter of something.

Again it’s not a hard and fast rule that I’m going to beat myself up about if I don’t achieve, but I think if I can honestly say I’ve written 100,000 words in one year that is a good amount even if not all in the same story.

I did a creative writing course at Citylit in the summer and our tutor Scott Bradfield said – write something every day and feel bad if you can’t for some reason and try and make up for it as soon as you can.

Which sounds good to me as a starting point.

